Call for the HEINRICH-EMANUEL-MERCK AWARD FOR ANALYTICAL SCIENCE 2017

Deadline: 31 December, 2016

Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, in the promotion of analytical science, has, since 1988, donated the HEINRICH-EMANUEL-MERCK AWARD FOR ANALYTICAL SCIENCE – worth Euro 15,000.

The prize was donated to mark the centenary of the first standardization of analytical methods brought about by Merck chemist Dr. Karl Krauch in his book "The Testing of the Purity of Chemical Reagents". The award bears the name of Heinrich Emanuel Merck, who defined the company's commitment to quality by the claim "I shall always guarantee the purity of my preparations".

The award is intended for chemists up to the age of 45, working in particular on developing new analytical methods and their applications in areas of human interest. Their work should be directed towards the improvement of our conditions of life, providing solutions to analytical problems in the areas of life sciences, material sciences or environment.

The prize will be awarded for the 13th time at a special award ceremony at the EuroAnalysis2017, Stockholm, Sweden, 28 August – 1 September, 2017.

The evaluation will be performed by a jury of internationally recognized analytical scientists, chaired by Prof. R. Niessner, TU Munich. The members of the jury are:

Prof. Marja-Liisa Riekkola, University of Helsinki

Dr. Michael Arl, Merck KGaA, Darmstadt

Prof. R. Niessner, TU Munich (Chairman)

Prof. Alfredo Sanz-Medel, University of Oviedo

Prof. Jonathan V. Sweedler, University of Illinois

Applications in the form of one original paper and a CV- preferably in English - should be submitted until **31 December**, **2016** to:

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Niessner Technical University of Munich Institute of Hydrochemistry Marchioninistrasse 17 D-81377 Munich

Phone: +49 89 2180-78231 Fax: +49 89 2180-78255

E-Mail: reinhard.niessner@ch.tum.de

Under original papers, we understand published own research results not older than 3 years. A brief scientific curriculum vitae including the applicant's age should accompany all applications.

The prize has meanwhile achieved in the world of chemical analysis a very high recognition. The previous award winners are:

- 2015 Prof. Dr. Petra S. Dittrich, ETH Zürich
- 2012 Prof. A. R. Wheeler, Canada
- 2010 Prof. L. Torsi, Italy
- 2007 Dr. A. Makarov, Germany; Prof. S. Nie, USA
- 2004 Prof. Y. Baba, Japan
- 2002 Prof. J. V. Sweedler, USA
- 2000 Prof. N. Dovichi, Canada
- 1998 Prof. R. Zenobi, Switzerland
- 1996 Prof. D.J. Harrison, Canada; Prof. A. Manz, Great Britain
- 1993 Prof. A. Amirav, Israel
- 1990 Dr. B. Bidlingmeyer, USA; Prof. R. Niessner, Germany
- 1988 Prof. M. Hiraide, Japan; Prof. O.S. Wolfbeis, Austria